It’s Alive!!

I can finally say it. Mister Poll 2.0 has launched! We made it through more than a year of sporadic development and two months of open beta, and it’s finally here. Wow. I’m sure this feels much more profound to me than it does to you, but there were times I wondered if it would ever be finished. Quite a few times. It’s nice to get this much needed sense of relief and accomplishment.

Thanks to those of you who helped us test during the beta period. Your efforts definitely made this a better release. A great thanks to all of you who have used Mister Poll over the last 10 years! You make this site possible, and your suggestions are what shaped this new beginning.

I have more release details to wrap up before I can sleep, so I’ll keep this post brief. Explore the new web site and have fun discovering what’s new. Nearly everything is improved in some way. The whole thing was rewritten from the ground up, so the changes are far more than skin deep. Some of the previous blog posts mention a few details, and I’ll do my best to cover more in the near future.

In the meantime, here’s to another 10 years!

http://www.misterpoll.com/

15 Responses to “It’s Alive!!”


  1. 1 bowling4bear December 4, 2007 at 2:46 am

    I have a ? for ya… How come all my polls from before are no longer saved to my account? I worked hard on those polls. They are still in the directory, but I can’t add to or change my polls from before Misterpoll 2.0. If there is no way to retrieve them, I am going to discontinue my use of this website, so please, help me out here…

  2. 2 misterpoll December 5, 2007 at 2:53 pm

    bowling4bear: I do show that you have 7 polls in your account. You should still be able to login and work with them. I will email you privately to find out what kind of trouble you’re having.

  3. 3 john December 5, 2007 at 11:12 pm

    it’s beautiful! thank you for your hard work

  4. 4 Gizensha December 6, 2007 at 12:04 pm

    Small point – There were some keywords I used to search for regularly to see if any new polls on those specific things (generally would pop up in one of a number of areas, depending on the specific poll). With the Search no longer being sorted by date, doing that will now be difficult. Is there any way for you to implement various sort by functions on the search feature?

  5. 5 misterpoll December 6, 2007 at 12:19 pm

    Gizensha: Yes, in fact, that has been the most common request since the relaunch. We are working to re-introduce sort-by-date into the search results. I miss it myself, in fact. 🙂 We had always intended to do so as a “stage-two” enhancement once the new site was online, but it’s gone to the top of our list since so many people are asking for it. It would have been included in this first release, but the new search engine we’re using doesn’t have native support for it, so it’s going to be a little tricky. Rest assured, it will come back though, and hopefully soon.

  6. 6 wetfun December 8, 2007 at 8:43 pm

    I would like the polls to open in an new window fron an search list, so I can return to the search list without using the back button.

    Thank you.
    Wetfun

    PS Will you please email why my polls do not come up is an search?

  7. 7 misterpoll December 10, 2007 at 1:21 am

    wetfun: try using CTRL-click (or CMD-click on a Mac) when you click on a poll in the search results. If you are using a modern browser capable of tabbed browsing, that should open the poll in a new tab. When you are done with that tab, simply close it and you will be back at your search results. It’s kind of considered bad netiquette when a web site forces a new window on a user these days, since web browsers make it easier for users to do it themselves if they like.

    Gizensha: Search now has an option to sort by date! Check it out.

  8. 8 Some_Person December 23, 2007 at 8:30 pm

    I hate this new layout! I mean, it’s pretty and everything, but it makes the page harder to navigate, and the new Admin section is very confusing. Even worse, old results are now in a new section. Also, on the results page, each answer choice was sorted from most popular to least popular, while now it is in the order in which they are in on the poll. Anyway, I much preferred the old, simpler layout, and WANT IT BACK!

  9. 9 misterpoll December 27, 2007 at 7:43 pm

    If you could let me know what parts of the site you find confusing or difficult to navigate, perhaps I could improve some of the things that are frustrating you.

    We did change the order that the choices are shown in the results. It used to be sorted from most popular to least popular, as you said. Initially, that seemed the most logical choice. However, some poll creators complained about that, saying it made it difficult for them note trends when the choices kept jumping around every time they reloaded the page. So we decided to try it as they suggested — keeping the choices in the same order as they are presented when taking the poll.

    Obviously, that choice isn’t pleasing everybody either, but no single choice will. Thanks for your comments, though. We’ll consider all of the feedback we get, and it’s possible we may switch back to sorting by popularity if it’s clear that most people prefer that method.

  10. 10 -gary January 3, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    Folks-

    Hey, how about putting links to the messages at the bottom of the results page and to the results and the messages at the bottom of the poll page.

    Also, why not just combine “old” results with the “new” results? What is the point otherwise? Whether or not the results were from the old software makes no difference to someone wanting to see poll results.

    Also, reading the messages seems a little more awkward than it used to be…I seem to remember that one could get all the messages and topics displayed at once to read through them.

    -gary

  11. 11 -gary January 3, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    PS-
    Please leave the choices in the same order as presented in the poll itself!!
    -gary

  12. 12 misterpoll January 4, 2008 at 11:57 pm

    Hi Gary. We have had a few requests to repeat some of the top navigation links at the bottom of the page. It would be helpful on long pages, and the poll and result pages do often get long. We probably will be doing that soon. It may get a bit tricky on pages that already have a bottom nav for paging, though.

    We separated the old and new results out of necessity, not because we thought it’d be cool or useful. 🙂 For an explanation of why this was done, check out the first two FAQ questions. At least they’re first right now. (Why were my poll results reset / separated).

    There did used to be a “view all messages” option. It would flatten all of the topics into a chronological view. It tended to confuse people, but we have had several requests to bring it back. It may be making a return.

  13. 13 Skyfox February 28, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    I have a commentary on the new look, followed by a question about making polls.

    First, the new look looks fine. My only problem with it is that the webpages are not programmed to show visited links as a different color. As a result, looking at a poll directory I can’t tell which polls I’ve already visited and which ones are new or unvisited. My solution is to go into the browser settings and disable webpages from displaying their own colors (ie. only display browser default colors) so that visited links/polls show up in a different color. It’s a workable solution but sometimes a hassle to have to change back and forth, especially when looking at other websites at the same time.

    Second, about launching polls. For a given poll that I made before the site changed layout, what is the difference between “My Test Launch”, “A Fresh Start”, and “New Launch” below the poll?

    Thanks for your answers.

  14. 14 misterpoll February 28, 2008 at 10:59 pm

    Skyfox: Because many links throughout the site have dynamic content, I didn’t use a separate visited link color. For example, just because you’ve looked at your poll statistics before doesn’t mean they won’t be different the next time you look. As you pointed out, it would be handy on search results and directory listings though. I’ll see about adding a visited link color just on those pages.

    About the launches… all polls get a “My Test Launch”, which is just for your own testing. Polls that were converted from the old system also have two others. The “Converted Results” are the legacy results from the old system, and “A Fresh Start” is a new launch to take ongoing votes in the new system. For more information about why the old results had to be separated, see the first two questions in our FAQ.

  15. 15 JEL April 5, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    Nice layout and new functions in Mister Poll 2.0. I must however say that I do miss the possibility to write several choices in the same box with just a new line for each choice (like in Mister Poll 1.0). I miss this because I use to create the polls in Ms Word and use the “Copy” and “Paste” functions to export it into Mister Poll when I feel the poll is complete (that way I don’t have to be on-line everytime I like to create a new question). In Mister Poll 1.0 I could “Paste” all choices to a question at once, but in Mister Poll 2.0 I have to “Copy” and “paste” one choice at the time witch takes a lot more time, and makes the creation of new polls less fun.


Leave a Reply

