Calling Advanced Pollsters!

I’m looking for a few advanced pollsters who would be interested in shaping how our upcoming results export feature will function. The export is how you will gain access to all of the individual votes rather than just the summary data. Presumably this will be mostly of interest to data geeks who want to sift through it to find cross-question associations such as, “How did people who voted for option B in question 1 end up voting in question 5?”

I’m a programmer and database person, so if I were going to crunch a bunch of data, I would probably want to load it into a database and run queries against it. One of our export options will likely be geared toward being loaded into a relational database. This is right up my alley, so I don’t expect much difficulty with that option. However, I know there are a lot of you who would much prefer to use a spreadsheet of some kind. I can use Excel, but I am no advanced spreadsheet guru. I’m having trouble guessing just what somebody would want to do with these results in a spreadsheet, and how the data should best be arranged to let them accomplish that.

So, if having access to all of the voting details in a spreadsheet sounds like your cup of tea, please speak up in the comments on this post. I’d love to hear your thoughts on how you would use the data, especially within Excel. Once I get a good grasp on that, I’ll work on a proposed spreadsheet format to support your goals. When I have a sample ready, I’ll ask for your feedback on that as well.

Thanks!

0 Responses to “Calling Advanced Pollsters!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

