Success! Google’s Advisory Has Been Lifted!

Yes! A little justice for breakfast today. Sometime this morning, Google removed the malware advisory for the Mister Poll web site. I was up quite late last night reading blog comments and continuing to research — about 4AM Pacific time. The advisory was still in place at that time. When I got up this morning, my internet connection was down thanks to a massive wind storm that swept through last night. Thankfully it was only down for hours this time instead of the 4 days the last wind storm caused. When I was finally able to check again, I saw the good news.

Again, I’ve received no communications from Google or StopBadware, so I don’t know what triggered them to correct things. I can’t help but think it was due to the buzz this generated and the complaints that many of you sent their way. The timing is very coincidental, and the fact that it happened early on a Saturday with no feedback from their official appeals process would seem to confirm this. I truly thank you all for your help. You rock!

I do believe the original blog entry is still relevant, and the fact that the problem was corrected doesn’t change the fact that it happened in the first place. It could, and probably has, happened to other sites. For all I know, it could happen to Mister Poll again. I don’t know that any processes have changed to prevent repeat occurrences. If that fact bothers you, I would still recommend you write Google and/or StopBadware to complain about the policy (or lack of one). As one reader pointed out, Google’s security team is probably not the right channel for this, and using it as such could be interpreted as bad behavior as well. If anybody can find a more appropriate Google contact, please let me know and I’ll be glad to post it here. It was simply the best I could find after digging through Google’s sparse contact information.

Thanks again to everybody who helped spread the word and right this wrong. It’s good to know that a vocal group of people can still make a difference.

7 Responses to “Success! Google’s Advisory Has Been Lifted!”


  1. 1 Ashley January 6, 2007 at 3:42 pm

    Yay! I was worried mister poll was going to be shut down. I love this site!

  2. 2 misterpoll January 6, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    Thanks Ashley. Believe me, I was worried too. Things look good again now.

  3. 3 Phil K January 7, 2007 at 5:37 am

    That’s good to know. I emailed Google and, like you, didn’t get a response. But I’d like to think that all our protests got through to them.

  4. 4 SR January 7, 2007 at 9:44 am

    Unfortunately Google has done things like this to a lot of sites, e.g. the -30 penalty, sites vanishing outright from the index and so on with no appeals process at all

    Simply google doesn’t care. That’s why it’s important to support alternative search engines like Ask.com, Microsoft’s Live Search or Jimmy Wales’ new Wikisaria. Google has way too much power and control over people’s lives and businesses and a lack of competition.

  5. 5 Munching January 9, 2007 at 1:36 pm

    Power corrupts the way humans think. So as much as possible “don’t be evil”, though sometimes you have to :p. Well, thanks at least Mister Poll is back in business.

    Cheers.

  6. 6 fred April 19, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    http://digg.com/tech_news/When_Google_Tells_People_Your_Website_Is_Danger_and_its_Not

    i made this at digg because my website was falsely listed as harmful to users , i recommend people dig this story so that Google can update there policy and verify before blacklisting them.


  1. 1 Tech Tonic » Blog Archive » January 2007 Update On Google Indexing & Ranking Issues Trackback on February 13, 2007 at 7:04 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

